Links to Other Sites: 

* FAQ   * Search   * Login   * Register 
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:49 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help with Tone Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:20 pm 
Soloist
Soloist

I have been playing trumpet for many many years...age not to mention. :) When it comes tone I feel mine is fairly good, clean, clear.

My son has been playing for 2 years now (8th grade). He is progressing very well technically but when it comes to tone quality not so good. His tone is very muffled and raspy...kind of like something stuck in the bell. I have tried everything from more air, relax throat, tongue position, slurring exercises, etc.

Does anyone have any ideas that will improve tone quality? Anything that has worked for you? He is becoming very frustrated as his tone is keeping him from moving up in school band.

Thanks very much!

MS

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 3:42 pm 
All Star
All Star

This is kinda hard to do long distance, but here's what I would want to see and hear to evaluate this...

When he inhales is his gut expanding, or is there no gut movement as he is doing shallow chest breathing? Don't ask him... watch him. Don't correct or ask him to change anything yet, as you check this stuff. Just take notes.

What does his embouchure look like as he plays? Think about his mouthpiece placement and the corners of his lips. Do these look right to you, as they look on other good trumpet players, or is there something unusual or off balance about it?